Voiding or cancelling a sale should only be used where products have not been fulfilled to the customer (Refunds should be used in that instance). Voiding a sale will still reverse any stock movements and cancel Gift Vouchers/Credit Notes, but is designed for the intention where a sale was created in error.
Before you Begin
- Payments are not automatically cancelled or reversed; ensure to reverse any Payments prior to voiding a sale
- Payments cannot be accessed, cancelled or reversed after a sale is Voided
- Once a sale has been voided it cannot be edited/reinstated
- Access to voiding sales can be done via Security Profiles
- Once a sale is voided Products will have their inventory movements reversed (you can track these stock movements via the Inventory Movement Log)
Void can be used to cancel a Credit note or Voucher when it is no longer required, ensuring it is no longer available for redemption in any way e.g. if there was a credit note created by accident or with the wrong value.
To cancel the Credit note or Voucher:
- Navigate to the original sale
- Reverse any payments
- Continue to Void
The Credit Note or Voucher will be moved to a cancelled Sales/Order status and will no longer be redeemable.
To cancel a sale: